Book Review: The 50 Greatest Players in New York Yankees History by Robert W. Cohen

As much as I hate to admit it, the New York Yankees are the most successful professional sports franchise in history. And as much as I wanted to hate Robert W. Cohen’s new book The 50 Greatest Players in New York Yankees History I found myself enjoying this book and so will you.

The 50 Greatest Players in New York Yankees History is filled with stats and other interesting biographical information that even fan or not will find fascinating and compelling. As a baseball fan this is the type of unbiased information I found appealing and what kept me interested in finishing this book.

Some of the names and rankings weren’t surprising but some names that I thought should be on the list of the 50 greatest weren’t, like for example Lou Pinella. Cohen covers this as well in a section of honorable mentions and that list is also quite extensive.

With so many great Yankees to choose from Cohen had a daunting task placed before him but his careful research and seemingly unbiased approach as well as Cohen’s easy to follow writing style makes The 50 Greatest Players in New York Yankee History a keeper and worth every penny. I highly recommend this book.

To listen to an interview I conducted with Mr. Cohen please visit the link below.

https://phillyflash.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/the-50-greatest-players-in-new-york-yankees-history.mp3

 

To purchase a copy of the book please visit the link below;

http://www.amazon.com/Greatest-Players-York-Yankees-History/dp/0810883937

 

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free of charge from the author for review purposes. I wasn’t expected to give a favorable review nor was that Mr. Cohen’s intention.

2 comments

  1. Curtis

    I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?

    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome weblog!

Please keep it clean!

