The New York Mets 2012 Game Recap: Two Painful Losses in a Row

Greetings one and all. Sorry about not putting up the recaps from the last two games but I’ve been working like an Egyptian slave this last week. Perhaps what I will do from here on out is just type a few random thoughts after each game rather than a full recap. Seems like this will be much easier to keep up with so here goes;

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that the Mets have lost two in a row since David Wright fractured his pinkie. If he winds up on the disabled list than Terry Collins says he will consider moving Daniel Murphy to third base. I think we heard the same thing here.

Speaking of Daniel Murphy: Am I the only one who thinks this guy is a disaster at second base? He can’t turn two and his footwork sucks. I know we need his bat in the lineup and I get that but what I don’t get is why the “Irish Hammer” isn’t playing left field.

I was very encouraged by the performances of Dillon Gee and Johan Santana. They both lost tough ballgames but I thought they pitched really well. Santana simply got out-dueled by a guy who throws serious heat (Stephen Strasburg) and Gee made a couple of mistakes that cost him.

Frank Francisco has been a very pleasant surprise thus far and I’m happy that he is a Met. He’s pitched well and has done his job every time out. It’s nice to see a closer actually close a game!

Larry Vanover is the worst home plate umpire in the Major Leagues. The pitch he rang Jason Bay up on was closer to Corfu than the strike zone and running Manager Terry Collins an inning later was a joke. It’s too bad he didn’t run Bay so we wouldn’t have to watch him any longer.

Ruben Tejada is quickly becoming my favorite Met. He’s done well in the lead-off spot and has handled himself well on the defensive side of things. I have a feeling this guy is gonna be good!

The Mets are off tonight and will travel to Philadelphia to take on the Sillies this weekend. Should be a great series!

 

 

Please keep it clean!

