The New York Mets 2012 Game Recap: Mets 5 Giants 4

I watched most of the game and lucky me I got to witness the ninth inning meltdown by closer Frank Francisco and unlucky for me the stream went dead and I missed being able to watch the Mets win the game in the bottom of the ninth.

I wish I would’ve missed the top of the ninth as well 🙂

What I did see was Mike Pelfrey pitch his heart out last night. He went eight innings allowing only one run on six hits. Pelfrey fanned three and walked only one and I must say I’ve been impressed with “Big Pelf” thus far this season. Not impressed enough to wish he remained on the team mind you, but impressed enough that maybe, just maybe, one day I will want him to be on the team.

I also saw Ruben Tejada drive in the first three runs of the game and with each and every game that kid is showing that he not only belongs in the show but that he might just become a star in this game.

Let’s get back to that ninth inning. I couldn’t believe that Terry Collins didn’t allow Pelfrey to finish the game….Pelfrey was on a roll so why not let him try and finish it? I get the fact Collins needs to get his closer some work but Pelfrey was really pitching well and a complete game victory could have meant far more in the long run.

Then the boos came…

The Mets fans were livid after that blown save by Francisco….and rightly so….I was really pissed off myself and in a way was glad the stream shut down….and my anger turned to relief after I saw that the Mets came back and won this game the way they did.

They shouldn’t of had to but that’s baseball I guess….

David Wright had his consecutive games hitting streak snapped…..to his credit Giants starter Ryan Vogelsong pitched incredibly well yesterday.

Later today the Mets take on the Giants in game three of their four game series.

Please keep it clean!

